Overview of Fellowship training

We are accredited by the Australian Medical Council to set and maintain standards in the specialty of general practice, and ACRRM is the only College in the world dedicated to rural and remote practice. Our program certifies the broad range of skills and qualifications you need to be a confident and competent rural medical practitioner.

There are three different training pathways, and each is delivered by accredited training providers:

  1. Independent Pathway (IP).
  2. Vocational Preparation Pathway through the Australian General Practice Training Program (AGPT).
  3. Remote Vocational Training Scheme (RVTS).

Training for each pathway can be completed within four years; however training time may be reduced through Recognition of Prior Learning or the REEF Program.

Training is structured in the following stages:

Requirement Time Location
Core Clinical Training: 1 year Training in hospital posts
Primary Rural and Remote Training: 2 years Training in rural or remote posts
Advanced Specialised Training: 1-2* years Training in an advanced skills post

*two years for surgery AST. 

A FACRRM is awarded after the successful completion and participation in all of the following pathway and curriculum elements:

Please refer to our Fellowship Training Handbook for detailed information regarding training requirements.