RURAL GENERALIST RECOGNITION TASKFORCE

PROGRESS UPDATE · JUNE 2022

JOINT APPLICATION FOR NATIONAL RECOGNITION OF RURAL GENERALIST MEDICINE AS A SPECIALISED FIELD OF PRACTICE

The Rural Generalist Recognition Taskforce has been meeting on a monthly basis since 2019 to oversee the joint-application to the Medical Board of Australia (Medical Board) for recognition of Rural Generalist Medicine as a specialised field within general practice. It is chaired by the National Rural Health Commissioner, Associate Professor Ruth Stewart and includes senior representatives of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) and the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM).

The Medical Board has advised of its determination that the ACRRM-RACGP joint application for recognition has established a case to progress to its Stage 2 (detailed) Assessment. This will be conducted by the Australia Medical Council (AMC).

The AMC have appointed Prof Chris Baggoley to chair the AMC Review Panel and it is expected the full panel membership will be confirmed in the near future. The process guidelines are also expected to be confirmed in the next few weeks.

The Commonwealth Government's Office of Best Practice Regulation (OBPR) has reviewed the application and advised that the process will not be required to incorporate a Regulation Impact Study (RIS).

The Assessment is expected to take approximately 12 months and to involve a national consultation, review of the current status of the specialist field, and further community impact analyses of the proposal. It is expected that the public consultation will be open for around two months and we would encourage all interested stakeholders to take the opportunity to contribute their feedback.

The Medical Board's overarching process and guidelines can be viewed here.

The Taskforce continues to meet reguarly to prepare for the upcoming assessment and its national consultation and to discuss related issues.

For further information or assistance, please contact the joint-application secretariat at **recognitiontaskforce@acrrm.org.au**.





